Teams have situations when you add someone to a group chat, but you don’t want them to see your chat history. You might have been discussing something confidential or just not relevant to the person joining.
There’s an easy way to do that in Teams. Just open your group chat and click on the add participant button to add someone new to the group chat.
Then, type in the name of the person you want to add and underneath will be the option to either include chat history from a certain number of days, include all of it, or include none of it.
When Lidia is added, she will see chat history for the past 4 days.
To remove someone from the group chat, click on the participant button again, and click on the X next to their name.
When you remove someone from a group chat, they will still have access to the chat history (in Lidia’s case, she will see the last 4 days) but will not send any new messages.
Check out my blog, 5 Ways to Improve your Group Chats, for more tips!